Wednesday 9th November 2016- Props And Script Work

For most of the day I continued the work on making the cudgel prop for one of our commission street story plays. Our lesson with Erica was cancelled as she was Ill, but I still wanted to use the time productively and knew how much time it was going to take for the cudgel to be made, so decided to do that for several hours.  I paper mached the entire prop and even got around to making and painting the handle that will be attached to the bat half of the cudgel. I am happy with how much I got done and think it is going to be more of an achievable goal now to finish in time.

In Garys script lesson we looked at sight reading/cold reading which I have already taken so much from. It was really useful and as its something we will need for auditioning at drama school im sure it will come in handy. He gave us an extract from a play that we were given on the spot. It was Lungs by Duncan Mc Millan which I have previously been in a production of with the theatre royal, playing the character ‘W’. This did give me an advantage to the rest of the class who hadn’t heard of the play before, as it was a play I knew very well and knew exactly what was happening in the scene. Never the less, Gary gave some excellent advice on what to do when you have to sight read a script and I will be trying his tips on scripts I don’t know, as I feel I couldn’t fully see how well they worked as I knew the play so well. He said you have to be quick and make sure you work out who the character is and break down general themes and emotions in the section you’re given. Then focus on the first and last line so you start and finish your piece well and confidently. He said that you don’t need to rush and if you can, annotate pauses in the script and underline things you want to emphasise. That way you are prepared when you come to reading it aloud. The punctuation is also really important when sight reading as it can help you work out how the character feels and also the tone of the piece. It can also completely change the meaning of the piece if the punctuation isn’t taken into consideration so its important to do and acknowledge. Finally something I found especially important was Garys advance on holding the script. He said as long as you are in character you don’t have to speak especially fast and can afford to speak slow enough to look at the next line, learn it and then be able to say it without looking at the script. He also reccomended holding the script further out as it looks better than holding it close to your body and you can’t fully act that way. I used these tips when I went to youth theatre after college and we were given a Pinter duoloug, it really helped me and I felt much more confident having done these steps.

Leave a Reply

